Acerwc Structure


The Committee is composed of 11 members of high moral standing, integrity, impartiality, and competence in matters pertaining to the rights and welfare of the child. The Assembly of Heads of State and Government elects members of the Committee by secret ballot from a list of people nominated by the State Parties to the Charter. Each State Party may nominate up to two candidates, who must be citizens of one of the AU Member States that are also State Parties to the Charter. Gender and Regional representations are taking into consideration in the election of members of the Committee.

All members serve in their personal capacity rather than as representatives of any State. The Committee may not have more than one national from the same country as its member. Members of the Committee serve for a five-year term and are eligible for re-election once.

Bureau of the Committee

The Bureau of the Committee consists of a Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson, and a Rapporteur. They are elected for a two-year term and are eligible for re-election only once. However, the position of the Chairperson is not eligible for re-election. The Bureau coordinates the Committee’s activities and supervises and coordinates the work of the Committee’s Secretariat.

The Secretariat of the Committee

The Secretariat of the Committee consists of the Secretary and any other professional, technical, or administrative staff that the Committee may require for the effective performance of its functions. The Secretariat, under the authority of the Secretary, provides the Committee with the technical and logistical support required for the Committee's effective operation.